© Elena Zhukova/University of California

1987 AE Fellow Andrea Ghez was awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in physics

Andrea Ghez, Zonta International Ameia Earhart Fellow (1987) was awarded the 2020 Nobel Prize in physics. Andrea, UCLA’s Lauren B. Leichtman and Arthur E. Levine Professor of Astrophysics, shares half of the prize with Reinhard Genzel of UC Berkeley and the Max Planck Institute for Extraterrestrial Physics. The Nobel committee praised them for “the discovery of a supermassive compact object at the centre of our galaxy.”

Previously, the journal Science published a study by Ghez and her research group that was praised as the most comprehensive test of Albert Einstein’s iconic general theory of relativity. She and her group are continuing to test that theory, after finding that it could not fully explain gravity inside a black hole.

Congratulations to Andrea!

Read more at UCLA.edu.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This