Amelia Earhart Fellowship

Since the program’s inception in 1938, Zonta International has awarded 1,573 Amelia Earhart Fellowships, totaling more than $10 million USD, to 1,144 women representing 73 countries.

To assist the future of women in this field and other aerospace-related sciences and engineering, Zonta International established the Amelia Earhart Fellowship in 1938 in honor of legendary pilot and Zontian, Amelia Earhart. Today, the Fellowship of US$10,000 is awarded annually to up to 30 talented women, pursuing Ph.D./doctoral degrees in aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering around the globe.

Women of any nationality pursuing a Ph.D./doctoral degree, who demonstrate a superior academic record in the field of aerospace-related sciences or aerospace-related engineering, are eligible and encouraged to apply. For a full list of the eligibility and application requirements, please refer to Zonta International Amelia Earhart Fellowship.

 fellowships are made possible through generous donations from individuals and clubs to the Zonta International Foundation.


District 4 is honoured to announce Emily Rae Gleeson as a 2018 Amelia Earhart Fellow Scholar.

Emily’s Bio

2018 Amelia Earhart Fellows

Zonta International is pleased to share the bios of the 30 2018 Amelia Earhart (AE) Fellows. Read the bios of the 2018 AE Fellows.

Name of Applicant
Dual/Country of Citizenship
Proposed School
Field of Study
Federica Angeletti Italy La Sapienza, University of Rome Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
Mary Bastawrous Egypt University of Colorado Boulder Aerospace Engineering Sciences/Structures
Helena Bates United Kingdom Natural History Museum/University of Oxford Planetary Sciences
Ines Belgacem France and Tunisia Université Paris Sud/GEOPS Planetary Sciences
Garima Bhatia India University of Alabama in Huntsville Industrial and Systems Engineering
Nisha Chandramoorthy India Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Mechanical Engineering/Computational Science
Demet Cilden-Guler Turkey Istanbul Technical University Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering
Laura Cordes Germany Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) Thermal Turbomachinery
Ashwati Das Australia Purdue University Astrodynamics, Aerospace Engineering
Berivan Esen Turkey and United Kingdom University of Leicester Planetary Sciences and Physical Geography
Alison Mary Ferris USA and United Kingdom Stanford University Mechanical Engineering
Carolina Furtado Pereira da Silva Portugal Universidade do Porto Mechanical Engineering
Selenia Ghio Italy Universitá di Pisa Information Engineering
Emily Rae Gleeson Canada Ryerson University Aerospace Engineering
Michela Gramola Italy Imperial College London Aeronautics
Carla Grobler South Africa and Netherlands Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronautics
Srishti Kashyap India University of Massachusetts Amherst Microbiology and Planetary Sciences
Deliya Kim Kazakhstan Lehigh University Mechanical Engineering
Akshata Krishnamurthy India Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aeronautics and Astronautics
Lucia Mascotelli Italy Universitá di Bologna Aerospace Engineering
Clara Maurel France Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Planetary Sciences
Sarah Elizabeth Morris Australia and Canada Cornell University Mechanical Engineering
Sindhu Paramasivam India Nanyang Technological University (NTU) Aerospace Engineering
Paige Katherine Rabey United Kingdom Imperial College London Aeronautics
Zeinab Shadram Iran University of California, Irvine Aerospace Engineering
Yi Hui Tee Malaysia University of Minnesota, Twin Cities Aerospace Engineering
Jacqueline Leah Thomas USA Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) Aerospace Engineering
Kirsten Elizabeth Tuggle USA The University of Texas at Austin Aerospace Engineering
Doga Yucalan Turkey Cornell University Aerospace Engineering
Meihua Zhang China, PR University of Kansas Aerospace Engineering

What are you waiting for?

Zonta District 4